Old poetry, new venue

Just reviewing some poetry I wrote in the past and found this link on Timbooktu:  http://www.timbooktu.com/folmar/mirror.htm

A copy is pasted below.  What do you think about this?  I’m considering starting a new blog solely for creative works.  I don’t know.  I have limited time as it is.  Can I handle two blogs?  Oh, I’ll have to think about it.  Anyway, happy reading!

Mirror

by AF

Next time I look in the mirror, I’m just gonna try to see me

Not some superficial image of who they want me to be.

If my eyes are deep dark brown, that’s what my momma gave me

If my lips are kind of full, well

That’s just how my daddy made me.

Generations of our women have had some hips as wide as mine

And we’re known for being a bit heavy up top

But hey, a cup this full takes time.

Lean back and see, I can fill some jeans

But it ain’t all about form and face

The love in my heart is also oversized

And with my voice I take up space.

I don’t need to pose nude for you to notice me

Or have my face on your magazine

When the going gets tough, people count on me

And as a friend I reign supreme.

Go on, keep your awards! Among true friends I’m adored;

I’m not in awe just because you play ball.

You bump and grind on stage, act out a scene, turn the page-

But my reputation never fades at all.

Popping pills, making deals, sitting high on the hill

Imagining others will envy you for that?

But when your 15 minutes are gone,

I’m still alert and still strong

At the end of the day, dignity still intact.

When we take a moment to reflect, what’s more important than self-respect?

And staying clean in a degrading, immoral society?

So no matter what road you choose, I don’t need to be in the news;

I just want to look in the mirror and be able to see – me.

About bologna2bethlehem

46 year old blogger/writer/poet/mother of two, missing Italy heart and soul...2017 still.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

